The Last Of Us: Researching Games

Time and time again, I keep hearing people sing praises about The Last Of Us. As much as I don’t want to admit it, I’m starting to notice that I get easily influenced in certain ways. Hearing all the praises about the game makes me want to replay it.

 

I first played The Last Of Us one summer. It was either summer 2013 or 2014. I honestly cannot remember. I’ll find out when I see my save file again. It was probably 2013 since I don’t remember much of the tiny details anymore. If it was only a couple months ago, that would be much sadder. Still, best case scenario: a year and a half has lapsed and forgetting so much of the game is still a bad sign for the state of my memory.

 

I don’t expose myself to much news or media. I don’t talk to many people either so often times I never even hear about widely advertised movies and games. This was the case for The Last Of Us. I saw it on a list of games I can borrow from the library and decided to check it out. I remember when I listened to The Indoor Kids a year prior, they mentioned a shooter game that takes place in a desert country and you make hard decisions about whether to kill people or not. Just from the cover and the title, I thought that was what The Last Of Us was. I don’t know what the other game’s called but these are two separate games and I’m pretty sure the other game isn’t nearly as amazing as The Last Of Us.

 

I’m a fan of the Uncharted games and when I loaded up The Last Of Us, I knew right away I was going to have a good time since it’s made by the same company, Naughty Dog. I’m not a fan of shooters, stealth, puzzle, or survival games so I actually didn’t enjoy the gameplay much. I wasn’t too compelled to play the game and had to force myself to play through a couple sections just for the sake of finishing the game. By the end, the overall experience was good and invoked some pretty interesting emotions but I get the sense that my experience wasn’t as epic as it should have been. I would say I got a pretty pure experience of the game without the influence or bias of anyone or anything. I did not feel the need to replay the game or try the multiplayer so that was the end of my experience with the game.

 

Over the past month, I’ve been listening to a lot of podcasts, especially video game podcasts. I caught up on the Indoor Kids and found out about HAWPcast which was something right up my alley. HAWP stands for Hey Ash Watcha Playin’. Ashly Burch is the voice of Tiny Tina in Borderlands 2, my favourite character in one of my favourite games. Her brother, Anthony Burch, is the writer for Borderlands 2. Together, they have a podcast, HAWPcast, and I couldn’t wait to hear them talk for hours and hours. I was actually really surprised at how low the sound quality was for their podcast but I chose to bear with it and was still able to enjoy it very much. They often talk about the influence of media on females and feminism which brought a lot of interesting thoughts and ideas. There was one episode where they cried as they talked about how grateful they were to have their group of friends who are basically their family. It saddens me that I don’t have that kind of relationship with anyone but it was still a very touching and enjoyable listen.

 

I am now listening to DLC podcast from Penny Arcade and just caught up to the point where they’re praising The Last Of Us. This sealed the deal for me and made me decide I really want to replay the game. I think I can actually enjoy the game more this time around knowing how good it is and knowing how epicly good the game was for other gamers. It’s odd, but I think just knowing how much others have enjoyed the game is going to make me enjoy it more.. To top off how easily influenced I am, as an admittedly shameful player of Candy Crush, hearing the DLC podcast make fun of Candy Crush gave me the urge to play it. Just the fact that I’m hearing it get mentioned made me want to play a couple games.

 

I think I’ll end this entry here. I have no idea if there was any point to what I just wrote but I hope it was not a complete waste of your time. I’ll probably write another entry on The Last Of Us after I finish replaying it in a couple days. Oh, and I just signed on to co-design a mobile game. I’ll talk more about it some time. I think tomorrow I’m going to write my thoughts on Shadow of Mordor.

If you liked what you read, please comment. As a blogger with few followers, I need the affirmation lol.

