Swallowing Pain

I have been sick for the past week. I can’t even remember the last time I got sick so this is new for me. I’ve always been mentally sick, but being physically sick is quite a bit different. I can’t really quantify whether I was more tired or I was just being lazy and using the sickness as an excuse not to do anything. The one biggest symptom is that my throat hurt like hell and swallowing is now painful.

 

When swallowing causes immense pain, it makes me question the necessity of swallowing. Normally, I would swallow saliva every 10 seconds or so and it would almost be an involuntary motion. During certain dental procedures, I might not swallow for a while but they have a tube sucking out the saliva for me. When I was a kid, I used to hate the smell of being inside a car. I went through a phase for a couple years where I felt that my saliva is nastier in the car. I also didn’t want to smell the car so I would only breath through my mouth and not swallow any saliva. At the end of every car ride, I would spit out a mouthful of saliva as soon as I jump out of the car. Describing it now makes me sound like the most disgusting little kid. If a car ride went above 30 minutes, it starts to get really difficult and I would almost feel like I’m drowning. My parents never addressed that messed up behaviour. I don’t think that was good parenting on their part.

 

Not swallowing is really a weird feeling. I can do it for ten minutes or so but then there’s this strong urge to just swallow, even if I know that it’s going to hurt like hell. That’s pretty much all I have to say about my dumb throat and saliva but I also want the title to be about swallowing the pain of a heartbreak. Sometimes it hurts so bad, I don’t know how anyone is supposed to deal with it. “Wisdom” would say that the bad moments are necessary to appreciate the good ones but thinking back on recent events, I do not believe that is the case at all. The heartbreak thing isn’t really about me and I feel like I’m writing crappily by being so vague about this but I think I’m just going to leave it like this for now.

 

There’s a few more things I want to write about from an episode of Joe Rogan Experience podcast I just listened to. The guest was Steve Maxwell who is a famous trainer. They talked about the shittiness of Crossfit for a bit. I barely know anything about Crossfit other than the fact that it’s supposed to be some sort of hardcore training regimen. Steve Maxwell discredited it in many ways, even on a common sense level, because the creator of Crossfit is a Greg Glassman, a doughy out of shape man. Why would anyone take fitness advice from him? How is this not common knowledge?

tumblr_m5mwepjqIq1r49m1ho1_1280

Steve Maxwell also strongly believed that digesting food is very taxing on the body and has several negative effects. Statistically, places where people often live over 100 don’t have a habit of eating very much. In fact, they eat very little. Steve Maxwell knows the stats better and the names of the places as well. I didn’t bother retaining that information. It feels so much dumber to regurgitate information without the proper stats. The other really interesting thing he does is that whenever he feels ill, he’ll fast. His reasoning is that the human body naturally knows to get rid of the bad cells and use those for energy so you get rid of the bad stuff quicker plus you don’t bog the body down by making it digest a bunch of food. Steve Maxwell was definitely one of those guests that I did not think I would enjoy listening to but he was able to change my mind.

If you liked what you read, please comment. As a blogger with few followers, I need the affirmation lol.

