Resultless Effort

In preparation for my stand up comedy set tonight, I tried to write some jokes. I want to clarify that I didn’t write anything, but I tried. Trying is a tricky thing. A lot of people want to be given credit for trying. Their demand makes me want to give them even less credit. If you want to give someone credit for trying, that’s nice. But people shouldn’t go around expecting people to be nice, especially after they failed something. Well, I can’t generalize too much. There are times when the thought is appreciated. But when I go out tonight completely unprepared even though I tried, my failed attempts at writing jokes isn’t worth shit.

 

I don’t know what I’m going to do. I don’t know why I’m struggling so much to write jokes I want to tell. I can hardly even write any blog entries these days. I’ve only been able to write these short little things but at least I wrote something. I actually started writing this hoping to use it on stage but I don’t think I can use any of this. It’s just very heartbreaking to see that maybe I’m really unfit for the job. I wish I could write new stuff but I’m running out of time so I guess I’m going to have to reread my blog in hopes of finding something I can use instead of sitting around twiddling my thumbs and thinking about masturbating and not even doing that for reasons I don’t really know.

 

By the way, I know I’m being hard on myself and I’m not completely screwed for tonight. Last night, I already went through a bunch of joke material I’ve kept and pulled out a few that I’m going to use. I’m just disappointed there isn’t more and that I couldn’t write many new ones.

16 thoughts on “Resultless Effort

  1. You are being hard on yourself. Everyone gets writers block sometimes. Just do your best to relax, go over what you already have, tell yourself that you rock and you can do this. Maybe even look in the mirror and try out some of the material you already have or try it out on someone you know. Be confident in yourself most of all, even if you think you’re screwed, you’re not if you have confidence. You can do this! And you’ll get your groove back, just try not to think about it.

  2. Okay i believe that telling someone to relax and keep telling himself that he can do it and stuff like that is absolutely useless. You are going through a very natural period when you feel like you don’t have the motivation to do the things you are already used to and actually have to, you get bored, you keep asking yourself am i good enough for this or why the hell can’t i do it right or what the hell is wrong with me. Buddy, you need some fucking ice cream, you should have a break for a while and separate yourself from the things that make you ask those shitty questions that you can never answer. Take your time and chill out a little bit, stop worrying and go somewhere away from all of this stress and trust me you will feel revived.
    Oh and don’t rush yourself, you just take all the time you need.
    Good luck, dear.

    • I wish I have some ice cream right about now. Actually I want ice cream all the time, lol. Thanks for the support! Hopefully I’ll have some good video to post after tonight. Either doing well or failing epicly. Too bad if I do fail, it wouldn’t be epic; it would be awkward, lol.

      • Hahaha! I want ice cream all the time too, finally found my match, lol. You know, i’ve always loved those who make fun of their own failure. However, i hope you do great, my friend. I wish you the best of luck .. And ice cream too! 😀

              • Oh boy!
                Hmm, you must’ve bought some ice cream, haven’t you? Anyway, i’ll be waiting for that video and i’m pretty sure it won’t be horrible at all.
                And one more thing, right now is probably the perfect time to say “FUUUCK” out loud .. that would give a hugh sense of relief.

                • haha no I didn’t buy ice cream. I’m too cheap with myself. I took your advice and said fuuuck lol. I shall upload the video one of these days… lol. There’s just lots of little resistances like me not having a card reader on my main computer, no video editor/converter installed, slight bandwidth limitations, y’know, excuses. I’m guessing I’ll upload it in around 3 days.

                  • The “fuuuck” advice is great though, right? 😀 dude why does everythig stop workig at the same time?! I mean all the bad and irritatig things happen at once, i’ve always thought that this is so dramatic that it makes me burst out laughing.

If you liked what you read, please comment. As a blogger with few followers, I need the affirmation lol.

